News Notes.29.11.2017


News Notes-29.11.2017

Government appoints the First Woman Secretary-General of Lok Sabha:

v   Senior IAS officer Snehlata Shrivastava was appointed the new Secretary-General of  the Lok Sabha on Tuesday. She would take over from Anoop Mishra.

v   Belonging to the Madhya Pradesh cadre (1982 batch), she is currently Secretary, Justice, in the Law Ministry.

v   She would be the first woman to be appointed to the post, although the Rajya Sabha has had a woman secretary-general — B S Rama Devi — in the past, who also served as the Governor of Himachal Pradesh after retirement.

v   The secretaries-general of the two Houses enjoy the rank of the Cabinet Secretary.

IFFI 2017 at Goa Concludes: ‘120 BPM’ or ‘120 Beats Per Minute’ wins Golden Peacock Award:

v   French Director Robin Campillo’s drama film ‘120 BPM’ or ‘120 Beats Per Minute’ has won the coveted Golden Peacock Award for the Best Film at the 48th International Film Festival of India (IFFI), which concluded in Goa on November 28. 

v   The film is set in France in the 1990s and deals about homosexuality and the AIDS epidemic.

v   The Golden Peacock Award carries a cash prize of Rs 4 million to be shared equally between the Producer and the Director, Trophy and the citation. 

v   Chinese director Vivian Qu won the Best Director Award for her 2017 film ‘Angels Wear White’. Best Director gets the Silver Peacock Award and a cash prize of Rs 1.5 million.

v   The Best Actor (Male) Award goes to Nahuel Perez Biscaryat for his portrayal of AIDS activist the film ‘120 BPM’.

v   The Best Actor (Female) goes to Parvathy T K for her portrayal of a nurse who wages a battle for the release of her husband held hostage by the rebel army in the war-torn Iraq in Mahesh Narayanan’s Malayalam film ‘Take Off’.

v   Mahesh Narayan also walks away with the Special Jury Award for his directorial debut ‘Take Off’. 

v   Manoj Kadaamh’s Marathi film ‘Kshitij’ has won the ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi Medal.

v   Celebrated Canadian director, Atom Egoyan was honoured with the IFFI 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award

v   The Indian Film Personality of the Year Award was presented to Bollywood legend Amitabh Bachchan.

B. N. Sharma appointed as Chief of National Anti-profiteering Authority (NAA) under GST:

v   A week after Cabinet’s approval for creation of the posts of chairman and technical members of the National Anti-Profiteering Authority under GST, the government on Tuesday appointed senior IAS officer Badri Narayan Sharma as the first chairman of the apex Authority. Sharma, a 1985 batch IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre, is at present additional secretary in the department of revenue.

v   Four senior officials of the rank of joint secretary and above have been appointed as technical members in the Authority.

v   These officials are Himachal Pradesh Tax Tribunal’s chairman J C Chauhan; Kolkata’s principal commissioner GST Bijay Kumar; Meerut’s principal commissioner GST C L Mahar; and R Bhagyadevi, ADG, Systems, Chennai.

v   The NAA has been set up for a two-year period, which would begin from the date Sharma assumes charge as chairman.

v   The Authority is mandated to ensure that the benefits of input credit and the reduction in GST rates on specified goods or services are passed on to the consumers by way of a commensurate reduction in prices.

7th International Military Games or Military World Games to be organised in China:

v   The 7th International Military Games will be held in Wuhan city in the central China's Hubei Province.

v    The International Military Sports Council’s Military World Games is a top sporting gala for military personnel.

v    It comprises 329 competitions in 27 categories and is expected to attract around 8,000 participants from more than 100 countries and regions.

v    The emblem of the Games consists of a dove, a star, ribbons and other elements and the mascot is called Bing Bing, the design of which is based on the Chinese sturgeon, a critically endangered fish known as the "panda in water".

v    The slogan is of the games is “Military glory, world peace”.

v    The Military World Games is a multi-sport event for military sportspeople, organized by the International Military Sports Council (CISM).

v   The Games have been held since 1995, is a multi-sport event organised every four years by the CISM.

Previous Games-Year and Host City:

1995---- Rome; 1999---- Zagreb; 2003---- Catania; 2007---- Hyderabad; 2011---- Rio de Janerio; 2015---- Mungyeong; 2019---- Wuhan.




0 Comment

Leave a comment